THN Home Page

Award Winners

By Mark Solway | January 16th, 2005

Even fans that don’t follow College football during the regular season start scouring the web for data now, as they ‘prep up’ for the draft in April. While awards are not neccessarily a guarantee of NFL success, they are an indication of that season’s top college talent.

Here is a brief summary of the 2004-2005 College football award winners.

2004 Award Winners
Heisman Memorial Trophy Matt Leinart USC
AP Player of the Year Matt Leinart USC
Walter Camp Award Matt Leinart USC
Outland Trophy Jammal Brown Oklahoma
Dick Butkus Award Derrick Johnson Texas
Rimington Trophy David Baas Michigan
Rimington Trophy (tie) Ben Wilkerson LSU
Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award David Pollack Georgia
Chuck Bednarik Award David Pollack Georgia
Lou Groza Award Mike Nugent Ohio State
Ray Guy Award Daniel Sepulveda Baylor
John Mackey Award Heath Miller Virginia
Maxwell Award Jason White Oklahoma
Davey O’Brien Award Jason White Oklahoma
Jim Thorpe Award Carlos Rogers Auburn
Doak Walker Award Cedric Benson Texas
Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Jason White Oklahoma
Bronko Nagurski Award Derrick Johnson Texas
Fred Biletnikoff Award Braylon Edwards Michigan
AP Coach of the Year Tommy Tuberville Auburn
AFCA Coach of the Year Tommy Tuberville Auburn
FWA/Eddie Robinson Award Urban Meyer Utah
Home Depot Coach of the Year Urban Meyer Utah

Edit: This blog was archived in May of 2016 from our original articles database.It was originally posted by Mark Solway

Categories Posted In | NFL Draft |