2006 Major Award Winners

NFL Draft

The following is a list of the 2006 college football major award winners:

Heisman Memorial Trophy – Outstanding Player – Reggie Bush, RB, USC
Walter Camp Award – Player of the Year Award – Reggie Bush, RB, USC
Doak Walker Award – National Running Back Award – Reggie Bush, RB, USC

Maxwell Award – Outstanding Player – Vince Young, QB Texas
Davey O’Brien Award – National Quarterback Award – Vince Young, QB, Texas

Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award – Outstanding Lineman – A.J. Hawk , LB, Ohio St.

Outland Trophy – Outstanding Interior Lineman – Greg Eslinger , C, Minnesota
Rimington Trophy – Outstanding Center – Greg Eslinger , C, Minnesota

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award – Outstanding Sr. QB – Matt Leinart , QB, USC

Fred Biletnikoff Award – Outstanding Wide Receiver – Mike Hass , WR, Oregon St.

John Mackey Award – Outstanding Tight End – Marcedes Lewis , TE, U.C.L.A.

Chuck Bednarik Award – Defensive Player of the Year – Paul Posluszny , LB, Penn State

Bronko Nagurski Award – Defensive Player of the Year – Elvis Dumervil , DE, Louisville
Ted Hendricks Award – Defensive End of the Year Award – Elvis Dumervil , DE, Louisville

Jim Thorpe Award – Outstanding Defensive Back – Michael Huff , DB, Texas

Lou Groza Award – Collegiate Placekicker Award – Alexis Serna , K, Oregon St.

Ray Guy Award – Outstanding Punter – Ryan Plackemeier , P, Wake Forest

Edit: This blog was archived in May of 2016 from our original articles database.It was originally posted by Mark Solway

Please share