THN Home Page

Time Machine: Edge Rushers #ThrowbackThursday

By Tom Solway | September 15th, 2022

Welcome to the Time Machine! The Throwback Thursday feature that allows you to swap current players with former players. Today’s edition is for Edge Rusher.

You can either choose to keep the current player that holds the roster spot, or you can travel back in time in the Commandelorean and pick up one of three players that played that position at some point.

Washington Time Machine

You can also vote for what player you would choose on our Twitter account.

The current Washington edge rusher is of course, 2020 Defensive Rookie Of The Year Chase Young. He has not returned from last year’s ACL surgery, but is eligible to return in Week 5.

Time Machine Edge Rusher

The three players available to you are:

Dexter Manley | Charles Mann | Ryan Kerrigan

Here is a little bit of information about each player:

Dexter Manley

Dexter Manley is a two-time Super Bowl champion and a part of the Ring of Fame. Manley played for the Redskins from 1981-1989 and led the league in sacks in 1986 with 18.5. He also made the Pro Bowl and All-Pro team that same year. Manley unofficially owns the all-time sack leader for the franchise spot,with 97.5.

Dexter also played for the Phoenix Cardinals in 1990 and the Buccaneers in 1991. He also had a short career in the Canadian Football League from 1992-1994.

Charles Mann

Charles Mann is a four time Pro Bowler and three time Super Bowl champion. However, Mann only won two of his three with the Redskins and the other with the 1994 San Francisco 49ers. Mann spent 11 of his 12 seasons with Washington (1983-1993) and his final year with the 49ers before retiring.

Mann had a career 83 sacks and 1 safety in a span of 177 games. He is a member of the Redskins’ Ring of Fame.

Ryan Kerrigan

A member of the modern era of Washington, Kerrigan played in 156 games for the team from 2012-2020. The Purdue linebacker came to the Redskins with a string of college awards.

He made the Pro Bowl four times (2012, 2016, 2017, 2018), and was the NFL co-leader in forced fumbles in 2014.

He is right behind Manley for the franchise’s sack record with 95.5.

He signed a one-day contract in the off-season and retired in Washington. He is also now an assistant coach with the Commanders.


So who would you choose?

Don’t forget to visit our Twitter page and make your selection.

Categories Posted In | Throwback Thursday | Washington Commanders |