THN Home Page

Time Machine: Running Backs #ThrowbackThursday

By Tom Solway | October 27th, 2022

Welcome to the Time Machine! The Throwback Thursday feature that allows you to swap current players with former players. Today’s edition is for running backs.

You can either choose to keep the current player that holds the roster spot, or you can fire up the flux capacitor and travel back in time in the Redskins Commandelorean, and pick up one of three players that played that position at some point.

Washington Time Machine

You can also vote for what player you would choose on our Twitter account.

The current Washington running back is Antonio Gibson although Brian Robinson Jr. is pecking at his heels.

Time Machine Running Backs


The three players available to you are:

John Riggins | Larry Brown | Earnest Byner

Here is a little bit of information about each player:

John Riggins

Known as the “Diesel” or “Riggo”, John Riggins was both a halfback and a fullback for the New York Jets (1971-1975) before heading to the Redskins (1976-1979; 1981-1985). He was also one of the most “colorful” players in NFL history. His exploits are legendary – from sitting out the entire 1980 season,

John won a Super Bowl, and was MVP of that game on the strength of arguably the most famous play in the history of Washington football.

Riggins was the rushing touchdowns leader two years in a row (1983, 1984), and won NFL Comeback Player of the Year (1978). He also earned a Pro Bowl selection in 1975.

His records are many. From most rushing yards in a single postseason (610), to oldest player to rush for 150+ yards (35 years, 70 days). In his illustrious 14-year career, he logged 11,352 yards and a magnificent 104 touchdowns.

Riggins is both a Hall of Famer (1992) and a Washington Ring of Famer. Riggins is also one of the 80 Greatest Redskins.

Larry Brown

Larry Brown was a running back for Washington from 1969-1976. He won many awards in his career – the most notable being the NFL’s Most Valuable Player in 1972. He led the Redskins to their first Super Bowl that season, and also won Offensive Player of the Year.

He was a two-time First-team All-Pro (1970, 1972), a Second-team All-Pro (1971), and the NFL rushing yards leader in 1970. He also earned four Pro Bowl appearances (1969-1972).

Recognized for his tough running style, Brown rushed for 5875 yards and 35 touchdowns in his 8-year NFL career.

He is a member of the 80 Greatest Redskins, and a Washington Ring of Famer.

Earnest Byner

Earnest Byner was drafted by the Cleveland Browns late in the tenth round. Although drafted late, Byner had a formidable career. He played with the Browns from 1984-1988 before heading to Washington (1989-1993). Byner went back to the Browns (1994-1995), who became the Baltimore Ravens (1996-1997).

Earnest then went on to coach for five teams (including Washington) 1998-2013.

Byner is a two-time Super Bowl champion, once with the 1992 Redskins, the other for the 2000 Ravens as a coach. He won many awards, including Second-team All-Pro (1991) and was a two-time Pro-Bowler honoree (1990, 1991).

The productive running back ran for 8261 yards, and 56 touchdowns in a prolific 14-year NFL career.

Earnest is one of the 80 Greatest Redskins, as well as being a member of both the Ravens Ring Of Honor, and The Cleveland Browns Legends.


So who are you picking up in the Commandelorean? Make sure you visit our Twitter account, and let us know.